Facebook Friends With Your Kids?

May 4, 2010 § 1 Comment

Are you Facebook friends with your kids?

I have been known to look at my son’s Facebook page if I haven’t heard from him in awhile.  As a college student, he often goes “undercover” with tests, his ROTC activities and his girlfriend.  But honestly, I don’t want to interact with him and his friends on Facebook.  You know, I get a funny feeling when I see those pesky prompts to make friends with your kids’ friends.

I remember when, in the not so distant past, my daughter barred me from being on Facebook.  But those were the olden days.  Now, every Tom, Dick and 80-year-old great grandmother is on Facebook.  How cool can it be if you are on Facebook with your grandmother?

Well, here’s the stats from Retrevo’s Mother’s Day survey of parents’ social media practices – Nearly half (48%) of parents add their children as friends on Facebook.   And the reason why?  Snooping of course.  Finding out where they are and what they are doing.  I’m glad I’m not alone.

How old do you need to be to Facebook?  Parents said:

Over 18             26%

16-18                 36%

13-15                 30%

Under 13            8%

If you like Facebook, then you will love Twitter and Foursquare.  Now that’s news you can use.  Because those social tools enable you to know exactly where they are.  That’s my preferred follow for my daughter.  Shhhhh!  Don’t tell her.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Facebook Friends With Your Kids?

  • I just recently got into Foursquare…it is different to say the least!

    My kids are on FB, but sometimes I’m not too impressed the way my 19 y/o and his friends talk. I just ignore it or gently chastise him…surprising he hasn’t blocked me yet!

    But then again, most of his fiends have known me forever so they just chuckle at me and make a funny comment about momma watching over him..

    I would love for you to check out The Blogging Buddies Social Network…you can create a profile, and add your blog, Twitter and Facebook links in the appropriate groups.

    We are hosting a week-long blog hop starting tomorrow.

    Why not join in the fun?

    Carolee
    Come on home – mom blog
    Working at home advice

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Facebook Friends With Your Kids? at The Lipstick Economy.

meta

